Lyttelton from the water
Behind the scenes
The Gallery holds two ink drawings by William Holmes (1825–1885) including this intensely detailed view of Lyttelton from the water which he drew in 1852, just 15 months after the first four ships arrived with the Canterbury Association settlers.
The detail is quite breathtaking with seemingly every building being accurately recorded. The two-storey building on the street corner (Norwich Quay and Canterbury Street) just to the left of the sailing ship mast is the original Mitre Hotel, opened by Major Alfred Hornbrook in October 1849. It was the first commercial premises in Lyttelton, and a modern version of the Mitre Hotel still resides on this very site, just.